Monday, February 27, 2012

NEWVA Team Academic Award

Recipients of the NEWVA Academic Team Award Announced

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - The New England Women’s Volleyball Association announced today its recipients of the NEWVA Academic Team Award. Fourteen teams earned the honor, attaining a team-average of at least a 3.30 GPA during the fall semester.

The NEWVA Academic Team Award was established in 2008 to recognize the hard work and dedication of the teams’ student-athletes off the court and in the classroom. Twenty-seven percent of all member programs qualified for the prestigious award marking the largest percentage since the award’s introduction.

Listed below are the NEWVA Academic Team Award winners. The number of years a team has won the award is listed in parentheses.

Bowdoin College (4)

Connecticut College (4)

Emerson College (3)

Emmanuel College (1)

Husson University (2)

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (3)

Middlebury College (4)

Roger Williams University (3)

Salve Regina University (1)

Springfield College (3)

Trinity College (2)

Wesleyan University (2)

Western New England University (1)

Westfield State University (1)

Williams College (4)

Established nearly 25 years ago, the New England Women’s Volleyball Association is open to all collegiate institutions in New England sponsoring Division III women’s volleyball. Membership has grown to 56 members in 2012, representing nine different conferences.

No comments: